Life is Good…in Surf Couture.

Sometimes the best thing to do when you hear bad news is to keep yourself busy so you don’t have to think about it. Second Life is about forgetting your troubles in real life and immersing yourself into a virtual world where you can get lost among pixels. I think, however, that no matter what I do in-world or out-world, this bad news is going to follow me. I got a call this morning that a good friend of mine from work passed away. He was only 38. I didn’t get the details of his death, but an autopsy is going to be performed. What breaks my heart is that he had been diagnosed with leukemia about a year ago. Since he was always in one of my courts, we had a few “friendraisers” that would be held at his house while he was out from work. We’d go over and have mini-pep rallies to boost his spirit and to show that just because he wasn’t at work with us, that we hadn’t forgotten him. We’d also take donations and get his family gift cards to the local grocery store, H-E-B, since he was on long-term disability (which only pays, I think, 60% of what their total income is), and his wife had taken some leave as well, so they were on budget constraints. After months of getting poked, prodded and whatnot, he returned to work in September with the wonderful news that he was in remission. I remember when he sent me a text that said simply, “Remission! I beat it!” My eyes filled with tears of thanks to God that He held my friend’s hand as he walked that long journey to recovery. That he was now able to spend more time with his kids. That he was able to return to the job he loved, making my life — and those he came in contact with on a daily basis — a little bit brighter. Hector, though you were not a part of my Second Life, you were a large part of my first life. I will miss that goofy, mischievous smile, that sunny twinkle in your eye. What I won’t miss is your crazy-ass driving (when we’d go to lunch and he’d drive, I’d say a quick prayer before sliding into the passenger seat), LOL! You led a good life, full of friends and family. You were a true and loyal friend. Thank you for always believing in me and having my back!

With that, I think it’s interesting (and appropriate) that yesterday, I took pictures at the sim Life Is Good, which I thought was supposed to close on January 15th but as of January 16th is still open. The theme of the Life Is Good sim? Enjoying yourself, which is exactly what I did.  Surf Couture, whose store is on the Artilleri sim, has a great variety of well-made and very reasonably priced attire. If you’ve never heard of it, please do yourself a favor and go there now! Didn’t see the other link to the store? HERE IT IS! Anyway, Emma Gilmour, the creative brains behind Surf Co., uses wonderful textures with her creations, so there’s never going to be an issue of poorly made clothing. They’re bright, well put together and just fun!

Surf Co.

Life is good when you’re having fun. Here I am goofing off in some of Surf Couture’s newest items: the Belmar Skinny Jeans in Dark Blue and the Slouchy Thread Sweater in Blue Floral. On a side note, check out how nicely the sweater enhances my rack from the newest RockBerry skin, Jules!

Surf Co

Sometimes…you just need to sit down, soak in all the beauty of the world that is surrounding you…and give thanks that you were given another day to love, laugh and enjoy yourself. We tend to take life for granted. I know that I am guilty of that.

Surf Co

Life isn’t always easy. Sometimes you’ll find yourself in a bad situation. At the time, you may think, “this is the worst possible thing to ever happen to me!” You might think it’s hopeless. You’re stronger than you think. Just hold on tight and remember that you have friends and family that will catch you when you fall. Here I am, hanging for dear life wearing some more new releases from Surf Co — the Rendezvous V-Neck Sweater in Orange and the previously mentioned Belmar Skinny Jeans, but this time in Original Dark.

Surf Co...hanging around

When you’re overwhelmed, I find meditation is a wonderful stress reliever. We all have so much going on in our lives, it’s good to just relax in the quiet and think positive, calming thoughts or reflect in prayer. Was someone mean to you? Don’t hate — meditate!

If you think the new Surf Couture releases are cute, check out the older items in the store as well! Emma Gilmour is a very talented artist with a flair for fashion. I’m expecting big things from this flourishing fashion house! Below I’m wearing the Little Bit Country shirt, which finds itself in my regular rotation.

Surf Co...kneeling

Just have fun.

Surf Co...balancing act

Creds:
-Jeans, tops: Surf Couture
-Skin: RockBerry ‘Jules’
-Hair: Exile
-Boots: Zero Number
-Necklace & earrings: H.o.D.

Now you’ve seen his face
And you know that there’s a place
In the sun
For all that you’ve done
For you and your children
No longer shall you need
You always wanted to believe
Just ask and you’ll receive
Beyond your wildest dreams

-DeVotchKa

About pumpkinsaenz

I was born in the wagon of a travelin' show. My momma used to dance for the money they'd throw. Actually, I'm a lazy SL blogger.
This entry was posted in Avanista, Blogroll, designers, Fashion, fashion feeds, Second Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

